STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS P.O. BOX 6486, ANNAPOLIS, MD 21401-0486 PHONE (410) 269-2840

Robert L. Walker, Chairman Bobbie S. Mack, Vice Chairman Andrew V. Jezic David J. McManus, Jr. Charles E. Thomann



Linda H. Lamone Administrator

Ross Goldstein Deputy Administrator

2008 MEETING OF THE ELECTORAL COLLEGE

Electors to Cast their Votes for President and Vice President of the United States of America

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Donna Duncan – 410-269-2851 Jared DeMarinis – 410-269-2853

Annapolis, Maryland (December 10, 2008) – The Maryland State Board of Elections announces the State's meeting of the Presidential Electors. The meeting will occur on December 15, 2008, at 10:00 a.m., in the West Conference Room, located on the 1^{st} floor of the Miller Senate Office Building in Annapolis. The Constitution and laws of the United States of America set the date.

Maryland's Presidential Electors were elected when Maryland voters cast their votes for President and Vice President in the recent Presidential General Election. The following Maryland Presidential Electors have pledged to support their party's nominee for President: Honorable Gene Ransom, Honorable Delores Kelley, Honorable Guy Guzzone, Honorable Nathaniel Exum, Christopher Reynolds, A.G. "Bobby" Fouche, Honorable Elizabeth Bobo, Honorable Michael Barnes, Honorable Susan Lee, and Rainier Harvey.

After taking the oath prescribed by Article I, Section 9 of the *Constitution of Maryland*, the Presidential Electors shall cast their votes for the candidates for President and Vice President who received a plurality of the votes cast in the State of Maryland. The electors will sign Certificates of Vote, which will then be sent to the Vice President of the United States, in his capacity as President of the United States Senate, and the U.S. National Archives and Record Administration.

On January 6^{th} , the United States Congress meets in joint session to count the electoral votes. The Vice President, as President of the Senate, opens the electoral vote certificates from each state and passes the certificates to tellers who announce the results. The votes are then counted, and the Vice President announces the results and declares the winners.

Visitors to the Miller Senate Office Building will be asked to present identification and be subject to the State's security policies. To allow sufficient time to enter the building and ensure that there is available seating, please plan to arrive 15 minutes before the meeting starts.

###